[email protected] Neurology Laboratory, University of Malaya Medical Centre

The Chapter

The Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfectious Council was formed on 6th of June 2015 during the Malaysian Society Neuroscience annual meeting.

The meeting was held in Weil Hotel, Ipoh, Perak.

The protem committee consisted of:

  • Prof Tan Chong Tin (Chairperson)
  • Dr. Joyce Pauline Joseph (Vice-Chairperson)
  • Assoc Prof Dr. Rabani Remli ( Honorary Secretary)
  • Assoc Prof Dr. Suhaila binti Abdullah ( Honorary Secretary)
  • Dr. Siva Seeta Ramaiah ( Honorary Treasurer)
  • Dr. Rose Izura Committee member)
  • Dr. Low Soon Chai Committee member)

The chapter aims to promote education, awareness and research in Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfectious diseases. The council was officially launched on 3rd September 2016.


Rules and Regulation of Movement Disorder Council

  • Name
    • Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfectious Concil

  • Objectives
    • To promote education, training of health professionals,research and improve care and management of Neuroimmonology and neuroinfectious diseases
    • To organize professional meetings and conferences

  • Membership
    • Membership is open to Healthcare professionals related to the above disorders

  • Office Bearers
    • Chairperson, Vice-chairpersosn, Honorary secretaries,Treasurer, Committee members as well as other office bearers deemed necessary to administer the affairs of the council are elected
    • Terms of office: 3 years. The chairperson shall make an annual report to the MSN at annual meeting of MSN

  • Meeting
    • The council will meet twice a year a copy of the minute will be given to the secretary of MSN

Current EXCOs

ChairpersonProfessor Dato' Dr Tan Chong Tin
Vice-ChairpersonA/Professor Dr Suhailah Abdullah
Vice-ChairpersonDr Shanthi Viswanathan
SecretaryDr Hor Jyh Yung
Assistant SecretaryDr Chey Shin Yee
TreasurerDr Mahavishnu Sahadevan
Exco MembersA/Professor Dr Wan Aliaa Wan Sulaiman
Exco MembersDr Lim Su Yin
Exco MembersDr Mohd Sufian bin Adenan
Exco MembersDr Chew Sin Hong

Past EXCOs

Executive committee members for the 2019/2021 term
ChairpersonProf Tan Chong Tin
Vice-ChairpersonDr. Joyce Pauline Joseph
Honorary SecretaryAssoc Prof Dr. Rabani Remli
Honorary SecretaryAssoc Prof Dr. Suhaila binti Abdullah
Honorary TreasurerDr. Siva Seeta Ramaiah
Committee MembersDr. Rose Izura
Committee MembersDr. Low Soon Chai

AGM & EGM (Annual report)

Annual Report for Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfectious council (2015-2016)

The Neuro-immunology chapter was a new addition to the MSN with the first meeting being held on the 6th June 2015, during the annual MSN conference which was held in Weil Hotel, Ipoh, Perak. The main agenda was the election of committee members as listed below:

  • Chairperson: Professor Dato' Dr Tan Chong Tin
  • Vice Chairperson: Dr Joyce Joseph
  • Secretary 1: Associate Prof Dr Suhailah Abdullah
  • Secretary 2: Associate Prof Dr Rabani Remli
  • Treasurer: Dr Siva Seeta Ramaiah

Re-election was agreed to be held every 3 years.

The second meeting was held on the 26th January, 2016 at University Malaya Medical Centre. Among the issues discussed were summarized as below:

  • Change of name of council and inclusion of other specialists from a broader scope of sub-specialities:
    • Change of name to Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfection Council
    • To include CNS infections and more auto-immune diseases such as CNS Lupus, NMDR encephalitis
    • To invite healthcare professionals to be members of the council such as neurologists, Radiologists, Pathologists etc, etc, etc
    • To collaborate with MS Society on MS Awareness programme for patients and doctors: Date to be announced
  • Research
    • Studies on NMO/MS in colloboration with KKM and University Hospitals
  • Grant by MSN for Council (RM15,000)
    • Sponsorship for 4 Neurologists or Trainees to attend PACTRIMS conference every year


The Neuroimmunology and Neuroinfection Council conducted a 1 day workshop on Auto-immune Encephalitis, on the 28th of July 2018

The official launch of the council along with lectures were held on the 3rd of September 2016